August 22, 2013

  • Mini lush haul

    I had been in a funk for a while so I decided to treat myself to some Lush soap. I bought 1/4 of a lb of soap called “Dirty” and a bath bomb called “Blueberry.” The Blueberry one is supposed to make your blues go away (hah, some sort of clever advertising I guess). I remember there was this guy from Belgium who was a photographer and during the photo session he would run hot water through one of the bath bombs to make the whole place smell nice. It’s a waste of water, but it did make the place smell really good. He really liked me at that time, and now I associate the smell of one of their bath bombs to that particular time when he admitted thay he really liked me.

    I also made a cucumber and garlic dish with sesame oil and vinegar dressing. Was so yummy. I can’t wait until tomorrow so that I can make it and eat it again.

Comments (5)

  • i love snacking on cucumbers. usually, i just add olive oil, salt, and pepper :)

  • Detail the cucumber dish recipe :’)

  • @jedeyeyam - Haha okay. I think every Taiwanese mom makes this at home. Steven’s mom makes it, and I’ve heard Derrick say that his mom makes it at home too. I used to make this dish incorrectly because I used the wrong kind of cucumbers. You need Persian cucumbers, or an equivalent type with soft edible skin on the exterior of the cucumber. If you get the American or English hothouse cucumbers, they will have tough rinds that aren’t as pleasant to eat.

    You need: 

    -1 package of Persian Cucumbers (from Trader Joe’s) Don’t use the English cucumbers because the skin is too tough.

    -1 tbs vinegar (I used a korean persimmon vinegar, but you can use any vinegar you want)

    -3 tbs sesame oil-1 tsp white pepper (optional)-1 tsp chicken boullion

    Prep:

    -Cut the ends off cucumbers, quarter them lengthwise and then smack each slice with the flat of your knife. They should crack a bit, but should still be intact. Cut them into 1/2 inch pieces.-Mix the vinegar, sesame oil, and boullion (plus the white pepper if you want) in a bowl and emulsify with a fork. This is basically your vinaigrette and you can add whatever else you want to experiment with. I like my vinaigrettes more vinegary, but you can change it according to your preference. Some people make it with some sugar, but I don’t like mine with sugar so I omit it.

    -Mix well and refrigerate ahead of time to allow the vinaigrette to soak into the the cucumbers a bit.

    -Enjoy!

  • Oo…  Very interesting.  I’m not really sure what boullion is, to the googlebrary.  So… Yeah… I had my Sunday date :’/ but I had a bad feeling about how it went…  Something seemed off.  She said I should call again Tuesday or Wednesday, said I’d call Wednesday, buuuut, no email from her since then, here Wednesday is, two calls made, no pick up.  So…  Yeah…  Bleh…  I also drove a truck 150 miles today.  Not as unpleasant, but still not something I enjoy.

    But on the bright side, cool recipe ;’) Anyway, I hope your day’s going well or at the least, better than mine.

  • @jedeyeyam - oops, should be “bouillon” not boullion. I always mispronounce/spell it. 

    Hm, I think you should take a break from the dating scene and try to develop some interests or hobbies that you like. Maybe you should write a book or start a website. I don’t know…something that’s really interesting to you.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *