February 8, 2013

  • Thoughts on Christopher Dorner

    On Sunday night, before we left to come back to my house, Steven and I saw a bunch of police gathered around the apartment complex across from his place in Irvine. I thought it had something to do with the car that had recently been stolen from Steven’s apartment, but it turned out that there was a couple found dead in a vehicle in the complex across from his. It turns out that the couple shot dead was the daughter of an ex-police chief and her fiancé.

    It’s weird, but that little incident, which was weird because it happened in a really safe and well to do neighborhood, became connected to a series of other incidents this week including the shooting and murders of some police. Today we found out that the guy responsible for all of this is a guy named Christopher Dorner.

    http://hiphopandpolitics.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/uncensored-manifesto-from-retired-lapd-officer-christopher-dorner/

    The link shows you his manifesto. He basically wrote a mini book talking about why he is doing what he is doing. I would sympathize with him, but it’s not right to kill people just because you are angry at them. He needed therapy, but unfortunately, no one helped him. When I read his manifesto, I see parallels of my own monsters and demons inside of me, yearning to break out and destroy everything. But I know it’s not right- ultimately the world can rape and pillage a person, stripping them of all of their rights and happiness, but you have to remain a better person and believe that someone higher above will be the ultimate judge of what happens on earth. As much as it would make me satisfied to take out a shotgun and blow the brains out of every douchebag who drives recklessly on the freeway cutting me off or tailgating everyone, I know that the immediate satisfaction of doing so could lead to long and possibly lifetime guilt. Is it worth it? No.

    I do feel for Dorner, and I hope that he and his victims and their families will find their peace.

    http://m.nydailynews.com/1.1257595

Comments (2)

  • This is all very sad…  I remember when I was a teenager semi-sympathizing with the Columbine killings, while also worrying that I might end up like that.

    Now my attitude towards vengeance is that I’m completely against it, despite seeing the appeal…  One thing I think of when it comes to desire for vengeance is Caesar and Cleopatra…  Read it :’D (You should be able to get a free copy on your kindle, it’s out of copyright).

  • I think it’s interesting that the public opinion of Dorner seems to be somewhat divided. There are a lot of people who sympathize with him even though they acknowledge that killing people for vengeance is wrong.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *