February 18, 2013

  • Valentine’s Day and other stuff

    I had a very nice valentines day and then Steven took me on this sunset cruise which took 1 and a half hours to complete.

    There were some really drunk and possibly high (off of pills like vicodin) white people who sat with us at our table towards the end of the boat ride. They were really loud and obnoxious, and at some point started singing very loudly. I was really put off by their behavior. Although I know it’s bad to generalize, I always find myself thinking “how typical it is for these people to behave this way” – then I feel that I shouldn’t have had these thoughts at all. Perhaps it was because I had partially goaded Steven into giving an uncomfortable though marvelous rendition of Sinatra’s fly with me song. He has a wonderful voice and I wish he’d sing more often in public. I often imagine that he could be a star at some jazz club someday. However, I felt guilty afterwards for prostrating him for these unappreciative drunkards, and that perhaps I had done so was because I unconsciously felt that because they were white, we were obliged to please them. I don’t know- maybe I am over thinking the situation, but when I had that realization, I felt ashamed of my actions.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *