August 16, 2013

  • Xanga is like a ghost town now. I feel like very few people have stayed to see what would happen next.

    It’s kind of like me. I would have died, but now I’m just sticking around to see what happens next.

    I don’t like how I keep getting footprints from an Unknown visitor. Is anyone else getting this problem? After the whole Snowden issue, I’m starting to wonder if it’s the government spying on me and if so, what for? I don’t think I’ve done anything wrong lately except drive about 5 mph above the speed limit.

Comments (6)

  • I think most folks are waiting on Xanga 2.0 or have moved on. I’m not sure if our latest posts will be transferred over properly or if we’d just lose the ones posted after a certain date. But traffic is way down, which is okay. I’m enjoying the silence for a bit and curiously seeing who is still around and why.I have footprints, but they’re from a user who keeps unsubbing and then resubbing to me.

  • @paperblanks - hmm but not an “Unknown”? I make it obligatory for users to sign in to read my content, but I can’t see who this person is at all..I think it’s a bot created by Xanga or a hired third party to generate artificial traffic.

  • @elainer7124 - actually, that’s a great point. Xanga may have just created a bot to crawl its own pages to collect data to move to 2.0. A bit strange that they would have to resort to that, since presumably they already have all the data, but it’s possible/probable that it’s an easier method to cache everything over. Actually, ever since I posted my last entry (last night), I now have Unknown footprints. Fascinating.

  • @paperblanks - I wonder why they would need to create a bot to collect data…is Xanga even sophisticated enough to do something like that? And why would they do it so obviously? It’s just so weird…

  • yea I think all of us are getting the unknown user. must be some sort of glitch.I’ll still be here until they kick me out of here. I sure as hell not paying a penny! Team Xanga screwed us over. Perhaps angry at .the fact they didn’t cash in a long time ago when they could have

  • @elainer7124 - it could just be a normal search engine crawler (whether it’s Xanga’s internal engine or something like Google), designed to update their records. Crawlers are not really that complicated to make, most basic programming books would have an assignment on it. Doing it so obviously/blatantly can probably be chalked up to a lack of effort put into being subtle. Perhaps they were just too lazy to make it so that it doesn’t show in our records; or… we could be back to square one and it’s actually not part of Xanga.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *