August 29, 2013

  • Reflections / relationship advice to a young girl

    Since I’ve been in a normal relationship for well over a year now, I’ve decided to reflect on quotes that I’ve always wondered about from when I was in dysfunctional relationships:

    “Busy’ is another word for ‘asshole’. ‘Asshole’ is another word for the guy you’re dating.”
    ― Greg Behrendt, He’s Just Not That Into You: The No-Excuses Truth to Understanding Guys

    This is true: Steven, even when he’s busy, will never tell me that he’s “busy.” He’ll tell me what he’s doing or he’ll say I’ll get right back to you or something like that. Never “busy” and then silence.

    “We (men) would rather lose an arm out a city bus window than tell you simply, “You’re not the
    one.” We are quite sure you will kill us or yourself or both—or even worse, cry and yell at us.”
    ― Greg Behrendt, He’s Just Not That Into You: The No-Excuses Truth to Understanding Guys

    This is true. My exes never said it to me outright, but it became ever more and more apparent that they never loved me when they’d make excuses or cheat on me. I didn’t want to aknowledge it because I loved them and I wanted them to love me, but it never worked out that way.

    “..he may love you, he may miss you, but ultimately he’s just not that into you.”
    ― Greg Behrendt, He’s Just Not That Into You: The No-Excuses Truth to Understanding Guys

    True with my exes. What I never understood was how they could say I love you and then tell me for days on end that they’re “busy.” It makes me sick to think about how much emotional energy I wasted on them.

    In short, all of these quotes have turned out to be true. No one who truly loves you will let anything get in their way. Not school, work, or even distance.

    My problem is my craziness that I get when I have a bad breakup. I shouldn’t get that way, but I always fall in too deep when someone I love tells me they love me too. If you are a young girl reading this, don’t fall into that trap.

    Quotes from http://www.goodreads.com/work/quotes/822184-he-s-just-not-that-into-you-the-no-excuses-truth-to-understanding-guys

Comments (2)

  • I vaguely remember liking the movie :’) which is apparently quite different from the book.

  • Those are powerful quotes…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *